DIY Lip Balm

Standard

I could have simply used the Vaseline on my lips. The only problem was that I found it to be really sticky and very light on my lips. It simply didn’t do a good job of staying on my lips and most of the times it would make the area around my mouth all greasy. So I came up with this idea of making my own lip balm.

I love DIYs for many reasons. I love making my own easy to use cosmetics simply because they are so easy-peasy, I know what ingredients actually goes on my skin, these DIYs are really cheap and moreover I can recycle the empty bottles and jars.

Here’s a step by step tiny tutorial on how I made my lip balm. Here’s what you need:

  1. An empty Jar or an empty lip balm tube. Click here to know where I found my empty jar.
  2. Beeswax pellets. I bought mine here. You can just go on ebay and search beeswax pellets and there are many sellers. Just make sure you buy the clear one and not the yellow ones.
  3. Petroleum Jelly. This is what I have

lipbalm1 lipbalm2

Price: $6 approximately.  This is the price for total ingredients. I can use these ingredients to make many more things.

How to make the lip balm:

I decided to change the consistency of Petroleum Jelly to a thicker and non-sticky one. So I melted about 4 pellets of beeswax in that jar in microwave for about 45 seconds. It takes a little longer to melt the beeswax. Make sure you do not add too much of beeswax pellets else you will find it difficult to scoop out the end product. And then add about 1/4th teaspoon of Petroleum Jelly. I eyeballed the quantity. I just made sure that it didn’t spill out of the tiny jar.

I also added another lip balm that I had but never used.

lipbalm3

 

This lip balm that I never used was too thick to scoop out and was also a tad too bright on my lips. So I added a pea sized amount of this to make my lip balm a tinted one and this is what it turned out like.

Lipbalm

What is the end product like?

The lip balm is very moisturizing. Beeswax is also known for its moisturizing properties. And everyone knows Petroleum Jelly. I know that there are no harsh ingredients here.

I am simply in love with this DIY. Here’s all I have to say

  1. Just the right consistency, can be poured in a lip balm tube
  2. The lip balm doesn’t get around my mouth area.
  3. Does stay on for a good amount of time
  4. The balm goes clear on my lips
  5. I can wear it under lipsticks that tend to be a bit drying
  6. No preservatives or harsh ingredients

P.S.: I have made an easy-peasy makeup remover using just 3 ingredients. You can check that out here.

 

Please comment and subscribe to my blog :) This will make my day!

