L’Oreal Carbon Black Mascara Review

Standard

Today I am reviewing a mascara from one of the most loved brands in the eye makeup department from the drugstore – the original ‘carbon black mascara from L’Oreal’.

LCBM3

LCBM1

Price: $4 to $7… depending on where you buy from

Quantity: 0.26Fl oz/ 7.7 ml

Claims:

LCBM2

Ingredients:

LCBM4

My Experience with the Mascara:

I admit I have started using mascara very recently. I am not a mascara person at all. This is one of the first mascaras I have used. I have fairly long lashes. The problem I have with my lashes is that my lashes fall flat and they lashes do not hold up a curl. I knew that I did not need a lengthening mascara but needed a volumising one. When I started searching, I found that L’Oreal carbon black mascara is popular with everyone. Needless to say, I bought it on my subsequent trip to the drugstore. I had great expectations from this mascara. First of all, my lashes clump when I apply this mascara. After applying this, I literally go over with the dual ended mascara and brow brush to declump it. Secondly, it flakes. It flakes a lot and I have the flakes all over my undereye within an hour or 2 after applying. I have noticed that on the days I don’t declump this mascara, it flakes way more than usual.

On the other hand, I do like the brush. It’s a standard bristled brush. I did get a compliment from my bf when we were out one evening. He was taking my pictures and he instantly commented “you have humungous lashes.” Clearly, the mascara does a great job with volumising and it also held up the curl very well. It is really carbon black. I put some make up remover on my makeup remover towelette to take off this mascara. Also, the packaging is very sleek and easy to carry around. I have a love hate relationship with this mascara. I am not sure where the problem is. Either I don’t know how to apply a mascara or the formula has dried up.

Pros:

  1. Gives a great volume
  2. It is carbon black
  3. Standard bristled brush
  4. No sensitivity to my eyes of an sort
  5. Sleek packaging

Cons:

  1. Very flaky formula

Ratings: 3.5/5

Will you repurchase? I am going to give this another try for sure.

P.S.: I will keep this post updated.

Please comment and subscribe to my blog :) This will make my day!

